There are ample reasons why muting tweets may be the best option for you than unfollowing or blocking certain people on Twitter. While unfollowing or blocking may sound a bit harsh when we are talking about the “social” world, muting might be helpful if you just want to mingle with certain people on your timeline.

The Mute option is now available in iOS and Android updates. This opens a whole new customization of tweets you want to see on your timeline. Most of us suffer in the dilemma of whether or not unfollowing or blocking a certain friend or family member. In doing so, may lead to unhealthy relationship with them. So if you follow people with unpleasant tweets, you can always toggle that evil side of yours and mute them anytime of the day without them knowing it.

So how do you “Mute” someone in Twitter? Mute a user by clicking the gear icon on the user’s profile page and then choose the mute option or click “more” next to the user’s tweet and then “mute @username”.

Muted users’ activity will not appear on your timeline although they can still send you a direct message. Twitter says,

“In the same way you can turn on device notifications so you never miss a Tweet from your favorite users, you can now mute users you'd like to hear from less. Muting a user on Twitter means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user. The muted user will still be able to fave, reply to, and retweet your Tweets; you just won't see any of that activity in your timeline.

When everything is fair and well, you can just simply unmute them. This nifty feature, as well as the other available options in your settings, gives you more control of the content of your feeds.

Post a Comment Disqus